top of page
Search

Dear God, Please Make Oregon like the Bahamas...Thank you...

I am a sunshine and warm weather person...the hotter the better. But for some insane reason; I live in an arctic zone that is freezing and cloudy almost 9 months out of the year. I know...I know....it's one of those "WTLF???!!!" things. It gets even better, because I have "Seasonal Affective Disorder" aka "SAD." And that's how I feel almost 9 months out of the year when the sun goes away....SAD. Why do I live here...well...because my people want to live here. I want to live in Miami...or the Keys...anywhere with access to forest and ocean...and 100 degree weather with 300 or more days of sunshine. I don't think that's too much to ask. I am super okay with doing like a 70/30 split between Florida and Oregon respectively. Because the summers in Oregon are pretty spectacular and then sun doesn't set until after 10 p.m. then. It's almost like it's trying to make up for the crappy winters...but it really doesn't even begin to quite hit the mark...at least for me.



It's been snowing here almost non-stop all week. Not light snow...but the kind of snow that makes you forced to have to stay inside with others 24/7 and contemplate values - the value of family time, the value of where you live, the value of life. You know...the self-reflective introspection that has you hunting for any space in the house that will give you a break from all the peoples and animals in your dwelling because you're about to lose your shit from being in close quarters and spending waaay too much time with them without a break. That kind of snow. Snow is just wrong on levels...levels...and yes, I know that's not a rational statement; but for me it IS.



One would think that this type of situation would find me being more productive; but it actually does the polar opposite. It completely shuts me down. I hate that. And no amount of light therapy, aromatherapy, or herbal remedies work. Trust me, I have tried to find every strategy known to mankind to work through this garbage...but I have yet to find one that does the trick.


I did actually manage to start a painting...but this is as far as I got before I shutdown once again. The creative process is usually easy for me; but when there is snow and grey skies for days...it abandons me.


Much peace, K



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page